Literal-Minded

Linguistic commentary from a guy who takes things too literally

My Miss-understanding

Posted by Neal on January 22, 2004

A Jan. 21 posting by Chris Potts on Language Log discusses negated sentences that mean the same thing as their non-negated counterparts, the most well-known probably being this pair:

(1) (a) I couldn’t care less. / (b) I could care less.

This reminds me of another not-to-be-taken-literally negation that I first heard from my wife. She said:

(2) I miss not seeing her.
more

2 Responses to “My Miss-understanding”

  1. [...] another overnegation with the verb miss! Explore posts in the same categories: [...]

  2. [...] of my earliest posts was on the strange negation in the miss not doing construction, and I wrote about it again in 2007. Now Mark Liberman has a post on Language Log on the history of [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

