Literal-Minded

Linguistic commentary from a guy who takes things too literally

Nae Nae, Nini, No-No, Noo-Noo

Posted by Neal on March 22, 2014

Soon after Mercer College’s amazing upset of Duke University in the NCAA March Madness tournament, both Slate and the New York Times published articles about a dance that the Bears’ team member Kevin Canevari was doing on live national TV while his teammates cheered. The dance, Slate explained, was

the Nae Nae, a dance created by Atlanta fivesome We Are Toonz. As Billboard pointed out a couple of months ago, it’s loosely inspired by the character Sheneneh, played in drag by Martin Lawrence on his popular eponymous sitcom from the ’90s.

When I read that, my first reaction was, “Aha! Another entry!”

A few weeks ago, Mignon Fogarty ran a guest script that I wrote for her Grammar Girl podcast, on the history of “Little Bunny Foo Foo”. That was an excerpt from my book-in-progress, whose working title is The Babbler’s Lexicon, a phonetically organized book of word histories, with words having one thing in common: That they consist of a reduplicated consonant-vowel (CV) syllable. I got the idea when I heard Grant Barrett and Martha Barnett discussing the word juju on an episode of A Way with Words, and got to wondering how many words in English consisted of a single reduplicated syllable.

I decided to narrow the search to reduplicated CV syllables containing any of the vowels /a, e, i, o, u/, the vowels in bot, bait, beat, boat, and boot. The crossproduct of English consonants that can begin a syllable and {a,e,i,o,u} gave me 115 possible words, which I’ve listed at the bottom of the post.

In researching these possible words, I’ve learned that almost any of them can be used as a nickname, especially those that sound like the names of letters, because they can be people’s initials: J.J., C.C., DeeDee, etc. Also, a surprising number of them have also been used as euphemisms for sexual anatomy. (Given the way I organized my list phonetically, I considered calling the book From Papa to Hoo Hoo, but realized that just wouldn’t do.) Anyway, the /n/ series consists of /nana, nene, nini, nono, nunu/. Here are the entries I have at present:

/nana/: Nothing. I’m not including single words, such as nah, that are said twice for emphasis.

/nene/
nene /ˈneˌne/, n: The endangered goose Branta sandvicensis that is the state bird of Hawaii. The name was borrowed from Hawaiian in the early 20th century.

Photo by USFWS, licensed by Creative Commons

Photo by USFWS, licensed by Creative Commons

Nae Nae /ˈneˌne/, n: See above.

/nini/
nini /ˈniˌni/, Spanish slang, n: A young person who just wants to party and have a good time. According to an entry on Urban Dictionary, this comes from the Spanish ni estudia ni trabaja (“neither studies nor works”). This definition is backed up by the existence of “The Nini Anthem”:

/nono/
no-no /ˈnoˌno/, n, adj: Something forbidden. The OED has this from 1942, and gives an interesting usage note: It’s usually with the indefinite article. That is, you can say something is a no-no, but even after that, you won’t refer to it as this no-no or the no-no. And I mean it!

/nunu/
Noo-noo /ˈnuˌnu/, n, adj: The animate vacuum-cleaner creature on the late 1990s BBC children’s TV show Teletubbies. Clever Noo-noo!

If you have other N words that belong in this set, leave a comment. I have just learned, for example, that there is a hair-removal device called the No-No, and that in South African English, nunu refers to a big, creepy insect. Other words that belong in The Babbler’s Lexicon at large are welcome, too.

>

/p/ /f/ /t/ /z/ /ʒ/ /k/
papa
pepe
pipi
popo
pupu
fafa
fefe
fifi
fofo
fufu
tata
tete
titi
toto
tutu
zaza
zeze
zizi
zozo
zuzu
ʒaʒa
ʒeʒe
ʒiʒi
ʒoʒo
ʒuʒu
kaka
keke
kiki
koko
kuku
/b/ /v/ /d/ /ɹ/ /ʧ/ /g/
baba
bebe
bibi
bobo
bubu
vava
veve
vivi
vovo
vuvu
dada
dede
didi
dodo
dudu
ɹaɹa
ɹeɹe
ɹiɹi
ɹoɹo
ɹuɹu
ʧaʧa
ʧeʧe
ʧiʧi
ʧoʧo
ʧuʧu
ɡaɡa
ɡeɡe
ɡiɡi
ɡoɡo
ɡuɡu
/m/ /θ/ /n/ /l/ /ʤ/ /h/
mama
meme
mimi
momo
mumu
θaθa
θeθe
θiθi
θoθo
θuθu
nana
nene
nini
nono
nunu
lala
lele
lili
lolo
lulu
ʤaʤa
ʤeʤe
ʤiʤi
ʤoʤo
ʤuʤu
haha
hehe
hihi
hoho
huhu
/w/ /ð/ /s/ /ʃ/ /j/
wawa
wewe
wiwi
wowo
wuwu
ðaða
ðeðe
ðiði
ðoðo
ðuðu
sasa
sese
sisi
soso
susu
ʃaʃa
ʃeʃe
ʃiʃi
ʃoʃo
ʃuʃu
jaja
jeje
jiji
jojo
juju

Created with the HTML Table Generator

6 Responses to “Nae Nae, Nini, No-No, Noo-Noo”

  1. Sarah said

    There’s a song from the 90s by Lidell Townsell called Nu Nu. If I remember the rapped part of the lyrics correctly (that part’s not in the lyrics if you look them up), it states “A Nu Nu is the kind of girl that you marry.” I never heard it outside of that song, though.

  2. Kevin said

    I’m surprised you haven’t included nana /ˈnæˌnæ/ — a very common child’s word (in the UK at least) for “grandmother”.

    • Neal said

      I didn’t include nana for two reasons. First, is it really /ˈnæˌnæ/? I’m pretty sure the actual pronunciation is [ˈnæˌnə]. However, I see you’ve used a phonemic transcription, so maybe it really is underlyingly /ˈnæˌnæ/, just like mama could underlyingly be /mama/ instead of /mamə/. But second, /æ/ wasn’t one of the vowels I was including in my survey.

      • Kevin said

        Many thanks for the reply, Neal. Looks (or should I say, sounds?) like there’s a regional difference between the way you and I say “nana”, and we’ll just have to live with that… :)

        Listen to the (very different!) UK and US pronunciations of the word at http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/nana#

        On your second point, though, it’s curious that you should write “/æ/ wasn’t one of the vowels I was including in my survey”, when you’d stated earlier you were looking for words containing “the vowels in bat, bait, beat, boat, and boot”. The vowel in bat is /æ/.

        bat, bait, beat, boat, boot = /bæt/ /beɪt/ /biːt/ /bəʊt/ (US /boʊt/) /buːt/

        Hope you don’t think I’m being over-picky (I call it “proud to be pedantic”).

      • Neal said

        I can definitely hear a different accent in the two pronunciations, but without seeing a spectrogram or having greater phonetic training, I’d still say the second syllable in both pronunciations is a schwa.

        As for including /æ/ in my vowels, you are right about bat! I didn’t mean to put that word; I guess I’m so used to it being part of the bVt series of minimal pairs that it slipped past me. I should have said bot. I’ll go correct it now.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

