Literal-Minded

Linguistic commentary from a guy who takes things too literally

Have a Seat!

Posted by Neal on February 1, 2008

When we go out to eat, we usually sit at a booth instead of a table, so there’s always a question we have to settle.

“OK,” I ask, “who gets to sit with me, and who has to sit with Mommy?”

Doug answers, “Uh, Dad, I get to sit with Mommy, and Adam has to sit with you!”

Adam objects, “No, you have to sit with Dad, and I get to sit with Mom!”

“Oh, wait, I remember,” I say. “Adam sat with me last time, so Doug, you get to sit with me this time. Adam, you have to sit with Mommy.”

Leave a Reply

 
